Home > My Career > Got A Career? Get A Career!

Got A Career? Get A Career!

Former basketball player Michael Jordan

Image via Wikipedia

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.”
Michael Jordan

My HR Director recently asked us all in Team HR to start studying HR related articles and sharing a few learning points. To this, she recommended that we follow the CIPD Podcasts and make summaries. It is a good thing. With this we shall have the extraordinary benefits of knowing more about HR and keeping our pulses with HR Trends.

In these Podcasts, Rajan Datar talks to leading HR Managers and explores many aspects of Human Resources. These range from training, recruitment and selection, interviews, leadership, staff development and motivation, succession planning, payroll management. The topics are many and are of course related to my career.

These leaders share with us practical information related to the understanding and implementation of the topical issues mentioned above. Why do they feel comfortable sharing this knowledge? Well because they have over the years practiced these things, learned a great deal from their experiences and have succeeded and they feel sharing their success stories and thoughts can get us to the same success as well. They have built “Careers.” Good of them. This makes me remember a certain quote; “A Candle loses nothing of its light, if it shares its flame with another candle.”

Well, I will be sharing the things I learn from the Podcasts on this blog. However, today I would like us to reflect on this word Career. To me it is a course, or progress through life and can relate to work or education.

Many of us grow in life without knowing what we would like to do. Well we just work for the sake of it or to earn some money or to say “I got a PhD and bla bla bla”. These are common where I come from.

To change this, we need to find what we are passionate about. What we will spend endless nights pursuing, what we would not hesitate to talk about irrespective of the time, something each time it is mentioned we glow and everyone can see our dynamism and energy – we become fired up.

Once we know it, let’s focus on developing ourselves and talents there in. Get relevant training, speak with relevant people, who have succeeded with similar things, be their friend (if we can), learn from them, acquire as much knowledge as possible on the changes taking place in our field, read the stories of those who may be far away from us but who have had the same success we would desire. This way we are bereft of surprises.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

