Home > Training and Development > Do Something Honorable

Do Something Honorable

Its was a cold morning and I was finding it hard to wake up, went out dancing previous night. I finally did wake up to get some not so good news. No power. Guess what? I was to have a JCI CSR Official training course beginning at 9 : 00Am and At that moment I had about 45 minutes to get to the Training room. The good thing was, the training room was just 3 minutes away and I had also rehearsed and prepared the paperwork prior to my going to Edea.

So I got to the training room and my Assistant trainer Olivier Bilock was there too. Together we moved chairs, arranged the room, got our material in place and started controlling participants and payments. While this was taking place, there was still no power.  9:00 Am was five minutes away. We decided to start the training.

The participants were amazed at the fact that we were delivering a training with no power. We succeeded in maintaining their attention and getting them involved and in making the session as lively as possible. To them (most of whom were new to JCI) it was magic. Well it was not that hard. I have led JCI CSR training six times already and it has become part of me somehow. Plus, good presentation and oratory skills can give you en edge even in difficult conditions. And also, it was not the first time I was leading a training session with no power.

The training went on for about 1 hour and then there were sudden clicks in the room. Power was back! “God is great” I said in French and we continued with our delivery.

Enough with this story. One thing struck me after this training though. It was the reaction of a participant. While in session he was very involved, very vibrant and always ready to contribute his ideas and help his team mates during the few group exercises we had. When you are a trainer and have this type of participant its a good thing, you realize he has got some positive energy  and you lean on him to get to the other participants.

When the training ended, participants moved quickly in order to catch up with other JCI activities. While putting our stuff together, I looked around and I saw Prince Akonlo Isidore (my energetic trainee) still sitting there and writing something. I forgot about him for a while and went on with my business. About 15 minutes later, he came to me and gave me a sheet of paper with things written on it. He told me it is a gift for me and hoped it would help me. I thanked him and we separated. I stayed in the training room and prepared the certificates of attendance for the participants which were to be given out during the Gala that evening.

About to leave, I decided to read the paper Prince had given me. Well this is what it said:

  1. The secret to your future is hidden in your daily routine
  2. It takes out one positive thought to survive and thrive to overpower an entire army of negative thought
  3. Let your hope and not your hurts shape your future
  4. Our greatest strength is not having money, but rather ideas. If the ideas are good, cash will sometimes flow to where they are needed
  5. Problems are not stop signs they are guidelines
  6. The only place where your dreams become impossible is in your own thinking
  7. There is no failure except in no longer trying
  8. Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves
  9. Every choice you make has an end result
  10. The best preparation for a good tomorrow is to do good work today
  11. Those who aim at good deeds must also suffer greatly
  12. What we achieve inwardly will change outer reality
  13. There is no one who encounters prosperity who does not encounter suffering
  14. Success is the maximum utilization of the abilities that you have
  15. Know how to listen and you will benefit even from those who talk badly
  16. To find fault is easy, to do better may be difficult 
  17. A big head with an empty brain is a big load to the head
  18. When you give the devil attention, it will give you direction
  19. He dies inward he who keeps quiet in the face of tyranny

I don’t know if all of these lines are by him but I know I certainly had a lot to learn reading them. Most of all I appreciated his efforts in sitting down after the training, taking time and writing these points in four different colored ink ballpoints as I presented them above. That to me was something very honorable. I felt appreciated. I felt he was enabling me add value to my future training sessions by providing me with inspiring material and also making me live an experience I could use as example to motivate others and myself to do same.

Let’s do same. Let’s do honorable things for people as often as we get the chance.

  1. August 3, 2011 at 8:38 am

    tis is a god one. Wish i can actively remember tis but trust i will come here every now and then to refresh. Great job bro and when are we having the JCI Douala Ideal meeting? have been talking w Exekiel and Bill. Will keep u posted

    • August 3, 2011 at 8:53 am

      OK. Keep me posted. It will be great

  2. August 26, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    keep it up! Thanks

  1. October 26, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

