Trust

Damn! I cannot begin to tell you all what has been said about this five-letter word “Trust.” Try typing this word in Google and you will be amazed at the plethora of search results that come your way.

Anyways, this morning while sharing breakfast in the office canteen, a discussion sparked up with my team mates.  You know we are in gear for the Presidential Elections in Cameroon.  Cameroonians are talking, saying many things which I choose to spare you with.  But what struck me in that discussion was a sentence made by one of my friends about Statesmen or Leaders. “For any statesman to succeed, he does not need much; all he needs is trust. His followers must be able to trust him, and he in-turn trust them.” Said Damian.

We all laughed. Well the realities of Cameroon provoked that reaction to such deep words. Cameroonians do not trust their leaders or prospective leaders, at least those I know for now.  However, this led me to ponder on the word “trust”, and my thinking tilted in a different direction. After a few thoughts that saw me playing scenes in my head on situations where I may have failed to trust or how I have abused people’s trust in the past, I decided to get a definition of trust.

Don’t be surprised, my definition is not by the book. It is a story. Hope you get it. And if you do, start working on how to trust people yet remaining wise and on how not to abuse the trust people have put in you.

A little girl and her father were crossing a bridge. The father was kind of scared, so he told his little daughter: “Sweetheart, please hold my hand so that you do not fall into the river.” The little girl said: “No, Dad. You hold my hand.” “Whats the difference?”  Asked the puzzled father. “There is a big difference.” Said the girl. “If I hold your hand and something happens to me, chances are that I may let your hand go. But if you hold my hand, I know that no matter what happens, you will never let my hand go.” 

In any relationship, the essence of trust is not in its bind, but in its bond. So hold the hand of the person whom you trust rather expecting them to hold yours.

  1. September 20, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I don’t know why recently, I have been thinking about “Trust”

  2. October 11, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  3. October 14, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Hi, nice site with great info. I in truth like coming back here much. There is just one thing that bothers me and that is the misfunctioning of commentary posting. I commonly get to 500 error message, and have to do the post double.

  4. October 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Mostly I do not post on blogs, but I should to tell that this article genuinely pushed me to do so. Actually fine post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

