Home > Business and Society, Training and Development > Tips for Marketing Yourself/Business

Tips for Marketing Yourself/Business

High Speed Business Networking Event (Paris, 2...

Image via Wikipedia

The million dollar question answered.

Focus on Your Core Competencies: Know your target market and the value your product or service will bring to them. Focus your marketing efforts towards these groups. Avoid spending time trying to meet people you cannot serve or work for.

Develop a Clear and Concise Message: Create a 30 to 60-second statement that clearly explains what you do, for whom, and why your target audience should listen to you. Have this message become your mission statement and raison d’être. Practice your message and notice how your target audience reacts to it.

Create Collateral Materials: Nothing says you are practical more than having corporate gadgets, business cards, etc. Keep it all simple, and do not order more than a 3-6 month supply of printed materials. Once these pieces are in place, do not be shy about using them.

Join Networking Groups: Join or form one or two networking groups with people you do not know very well. Tell people what you do and what your goals and interests are. Help others by connecting them with potential suppliers, employers and opportunities. In time, they will return the favor to you.

Network Every Day: Networking is not limited to groups and networking meetings. Carry your business cards with you at all times and be prepared to talk about yourself at a moment’s notice. Your next hot prospect might be sitting behind you at the next table.

Leverage Your Current Customers (for your business place): Happy customers are your best sales people – ask them to offer testimonials and/or references for prospects. Consider establishing a customer referral program, and offer free/discounted services or a monetary reward for every customer that they recommend.

Develop Alliance Partners: Form strategic partnerships with others who are in the same field as you. These alliances can be as simple as sharing contacts and leads, or they might take on a more formal structure. Either way, the goal is to broaden your reach beyond your own network.

Be an Industry Leader: People like to listen to subject matter experts. Therefore, look for opportunities to share your skills and talents by writing articles or lecturing on a topic within your area of expertise. Even teaching a night course at the local college or community level will give you added exposure.

Don’t be Afraid to Try: If you are serious about growth, spend time outside your comfort zone and try new things. Sometimes new ideas will work, and other times they won’t. Either way, the process will teach you something new and valuable about yourself and your business.

Brainstorm with Others: You are in business for yourself, but that does not mean you need to have all the answers yourself. Whether you are a natural-born marketer or one that sees marketing concepts as completely foreign, kick around ideas with others whose opinions and values you trust. You never know where your next “big idea” will come from.

  1. October 8, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

    • October 10, 2011 at 10:59 am

      Yes we can. Have a nice day and just let me when you are ready for us to exchange

  2. October 9, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Nice post. I study something tougher on different blogs everyday. It’ll all the time be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and practice a bit of something from their store. I?d want to use some with the content material on my blog whether you don?t mind. Natually I?ll offer you a link in your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

  3. October 10, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I just wanted to comment and say that I really enjoyed reading your blog post here. It was very informative and I also digg the way you write! Keep it up and I’ll be back to read more in the future

    • October 10, 2011 at 10:58 am

      Thanks. Will try to keep the info coming

  4. October 11, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    There are some fascinating cut-off dates on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity however I’ll take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  5. October 11, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    This was novel. I wish I could read every post, but i have to go back to work now… But I’ll return.

  6. October 14, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I have learn a few from the articles in your website now, knowning that i really like your kind of blogging. I added it to my faves net internet page listing and will probably be examining again soon. Please check out my net web site too and let me know what you’re considering that. Thanks.

  7. October 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Is it OK if I steal your post on my site?

    • October 17, 2011 at 11:35 am

      Its not ok to steal. Lol, it is ok to use, share with others and contibute your ideas as well. stay blessed

  1. October 2, 2011 at 6:50 am
  2. October 25, 2011 at 11:18 pm

Leave a Reply

