Home > My Career, Training and Development > Elaborating Your Job Search

Elaborating Your Job Search

“The voyage of discovery is not in looking for new landscapes, but in looking with new eyes.” Anonymous –

Where do you go when you want to look for job openings? Instead of jumping immediately on the available adverts, spend time on the other important steps of the job search.

These include Assessing your job interests, aligning these interest to your personal and professional values and Skills. This done, you need to carefully identify your needs and priorities. Invest time in quality research and informational interviews. Set goals and focus your search on jobs that relate to your passion and skills. Identify duties and qualifications from job adverts which may provide more information to help you make well-informed decisions about your career and job choice. Since many jobs are attained through networking, you should spend at least half your job-search time doing just that. The other half should be spent identifying positions through other means.

These other means  include;
Newspapers, Radio (Luncheon date, Announcements etc), Recruitment Agencies (National Employment Fund, Emploi Service), Friends and Relatives (Godfathers etc), Consular services and chambers (Commerce, Agriculture, SYBDISTRICAM, GICAM)

Sources for job listing are all around you. Brainstorming with other job seekers may help you uncover other sources in your area. Identifying all sources of job announcements and leads is impossible, but the research you do may give you job listing information and companies that are in need of your skills.

  1. October 9, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    I?m impressed, I have to say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that?s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the issue is something that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very joyful that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  2. October 11, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    I have really enjoyied reading your well written article. It looks like you spend a lot of effort and time on your blog. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work!

  3. October 14, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I’m pretty new to commenting and noticed that a number of your other readers have different avatars. Any idea as to how I can change mine? Is it possible to put a custom one?

  4. October 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    As I noted on my submission, I’m not cozy sharing my address and telephone number with anyone that would like to see it on the cyberspace. Is it mathematical for us to electronic mail it to you or possibly the achiever could be contacted by netmail?

  5. October 22, 2011 at 6:44 am

    motorna olja mobil Nice post, thank you. Do you have a Facebook account?

  6. October 24, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I was very happy to search out this web-site.I needed to thanks for your time for this excellent learn!! I undoubtedly having fun with each little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

