Home > JCI News > Kibonen NFI on JCI

Kibonen NFI on JCI

I remember in 2002 when i took the JCI PRIME course which was a Training the Trainers course after having resisted JCI for over 2 years. Just refusing to be open to the idea – yes that was childishness and ignorance. When i walked into this course room, after my first interactions which basically was teaching us how to introduce ourselves and introduce others, i was called up to introduce my partner. From that moment the chains around my life were broken. the chains of fright, fear, being shy, and lack of confidence. these all flew out of the window. The reason for this was because i got an amazing applause from the crowd after i did the introduction. I definitely could not believe i did such an amazing job. I gracefully embraced self confidence and courage. I remember very well i was in the same promotion as Roland Kwemain Immediate Past World President of JCI , Lambert Obenson, Joseph Ikome Mbiand Katia Kerekou. Roland was my greatest pal and the biggest force that kept me moving. We had been bitten by the JCI Bug. This is a good bug.

It was over 4 days of deep and thorough work, late night sleep doing group assignments and early wakes for the workshops. I was more than proud when on the graduation day i was called up as the best participant. Then my life officially changed as i equally had to live up to the task. I developed the confidence to do all that could be done and i knew the sky was definitely where i was aiming at.

After being bitten by the JCI bug i was on “fire” i wanted to do all kinds of projects and was just super energized.
To start Roland Kwemain and i hosted al the events organised by JCI – Yeah we were the host couple and yeah i just discovered i could host.

Then Lambert Obenson and i created a JCI Chapter which was called JCI Douala Ideal. The real and true ideal chapter. Oh definitely i realized i could inspire and lead. wow!!! You can tell i was ready to bring every thing down and do it all. I travelled to Gabon, Nigeria, Benin, Senegal USA all on my JCI adventures (Conferences and Congresses.)

These were the best days of my life. I met incredible people and i remember meeting with chief Dele Momodu who was the key-note speaker at the africa and the Middle East Conference in Cotonou Benin. I was unstoppable.

I made great friends from all over the world and most of all i realized my age mates in other countries were doing amazing things and this only pushed me further.

I progressed in my career as a trainer and a trainee – i trained my chapter members on various topics, I developed my leadership skills as i took over being chapter president from Lambert. I expanded my international network, helped my community enormously as we together developed projects following the UN Millennium Development Goals that directly touched them.

I realized to be an active citizen, it depends on me and one thing always remained in me- love for my community, the ability to take responsibility and not wait for what the government has to offer. I equally started discovering my entrepreneurial skills.

From JCI i believed
– That Faith in God gives meaning and purpose to human lives
– That the brotherhood of man transcends the sovereignty of nations
– That Economic justice can best be won by free men through free enterprise
– That governments should be of laws rather than of men
– That earths greatest treasure lies in human personality
– And that service to humanity is the bets work of life.

These have governed my life till this point. I love JCI and all it has been to me and many others.

Douala Ideal my baby has produced amazing leaders and has changed the lives of so many people. I will ensure Douala Ideal never dies.

Today i have been invited by JCI to host their JCI Morning show during the World congress. this to me is an honor as i will represent Africa together with my Asian and American counterparts. I am completely excited about it and i will invite you all to stay tuned.

Whenever any one asks me how did you become who you are – i tell them JCI made me who i am. See y’all in Brussels once more. And to all the young people click on http://www.jci.cc, become a member and see how your life gets a 18-degree change upwards.

Related articles

  1. October 26, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Kibonen is the perfect example of a leader-in-demand. I wholeheartedly endorse her future endeavors. She is truly a great inspiration and I love her tenacity and committment to hard work and self motivation and determination. Wishing you continued success and a prosperous future.

  2. TEM Damian
    October 26, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Compare her with her immediate freinds who did not have the opportunity to become JCIs’ and you will truely see the difference she is…

  3. October 27, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Did you design the topic this well with the default comment tools? Your post is incredible.

  4. October 31, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Who did you pay to do your site? Its really nicely designed I bet that is why you get so much traffic!

    • October 31, 2011 at 8:54 am

      No my friend, a free theme from WordPress

    • October 31, 2011 at 8:54 am

      No my friend, a free theme from WordPress

  5. November 4, 2011 at 1:20 am

    Wow,great post,thanks for sharing!

  1. November 18, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Leave a Reply

