Home > Uncategorized > Look Around You

Look Around You

I am currently designing a Training module on “Team Leadership” for Directors and Managers in my company. It is amazing how much literature there is on the topic. As I progressed with my research, I realized my focus had shifted from the Cameroonian to the Western context. Blame me less. It’s just appalling how much material has been made available to exploit from their documentation.

Scholars and experts in the field have taken time to create material and propose theories which guide in leadership and management processes. Unfortunately, we in Cameroon have not thought of developing our own content based on our realities and experiences. In my research, I could not find Leadership quotes and theories coming from Cameroonians that  could motivate and inspire my training target group. And even if someone had written or said something, it was hard to find. I may not have looked deeper. However, I think such material would not be hard to find given its demand and this gave me the idea to later develop and share mine.

The sad thing is; I know many outstanding Cameroonian Leaders who have a lot to share on this. However, finding material where these experiences have been collated and published for others to learn and implement is an uphill task. Its time we started writing.

Every experience comes with a lesson, a lesson which can help others act accordingly once exposed to similar experiences. You may have noticed like me that Westerners write a lot. Bestsellers there change within minutes because publishing is done by the second. Hence knowledge is shared, theories are tested, and capacities are developed. And back here, having little options, we can only borrow from them.

How did I solve my course development dilemma? Well, I decided to contact someone I knew who had a wonderful leadership track record and had the brilliant idea of documenting these experiences in a book which is being edited as you make sense of this article.

Receiving my phone call, he understood my objective and absolutely loved it. So when I asked the question “To you what is leadership?” This is what he had to say

“Leadership is servant-hood. It is about sharing. It is helping where and how one can. It must not be performed necessarily within a function or a position. It should be a happy process for the person or persons involved. It is about inspiring people to accomplish a common goal. Everybody can influence this process and anybody can be a leader.” Roland KWEMAIN – 65th JCI President.

Guess what People? This excerpt occupies a slide in my Leadership Training Module and it replaced another by Napoleon Bonaparte. I am totally sure my target will relate more with the latter than former.

  1. November 24, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    ok this makes sense.

  2. December 2, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    cool work, love your look, suits the blog well 🙂

  3. December 10, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Expecting additional news in this field.

  4. December 22, 2011 at 2:27 am

    cool story bro

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

