Dealing With Insult

Statue of Buddha in Vietnam

My good friend Mambo Mancho definitely got some lessons from Buddha for us. She posts  Buddha’s explanation on how to handle insult and maintain compassion. Make the best of it.

One day Buddha was walking through a village. A very angry and rude young man  came up and began insulting him. “You have no right teaching others,” he  shouted. “You are as stupid as everyone else. You are nothing but a fake.” Buddha was not upset by these insults. Instead he asked the young man “Tell me, if you buy a gift for someone, and that person does not take it, to whom does the gift belong?”

The man was surprised at the question and answered, “It would belong to me, because I bought the gift.” Buddha smiled and said, “That is correct. And it is exactly the same with  your anger. If you become angry with me and I do not get insulted, then the  anger falls back on you. You are then the only one who becomes unhappy, not me. All you have done is hurt yourself.”

“If you want to stop hurting yourself, you must get rid of your anger and become loving instead. When you hate others, you become unhappy. But when you love others, everyone is happy.”

The young man listened closely to these wise words of the Buddha. “You are right, o Enlightened One, “he said. “Please teach me the path of love. I wish to become your follower.”

The Buddha answered kindly, “Of course. I teach anyone who truly wants to learn. Come with me.”

Please remember; “If you are right then there is no need to get angry And if you are wrong then you don’t have any right to get angry.”

Related articles

  1. January 8, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    This internet site is my breathing in, very great pattern and perfect content .

  2. January 9, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome weblog!

    • January 9, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      Dorothy, please feel free to write your own articles and send to me anytime. I would publish them in your name. Its up to you. Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

